The Story Sponge Through The Ages~ In Which Holy Moly, It’s Been Three Years And I Wonder How My Blog Is Still Alive

Salutations, my dear bloggerly chums!

It occurred to me the other day that my Blog’s Birthday is at the end of June. Which, is alarmingly soon.

By the time I post this in the beginning of July, The Story Sponge will be THREE YEARS OF AGE.

I know. I am still in shock about it.

On the one hand, it feels like it was only yesterday that this blog sallied forth into the world, with no clue what it was doing, and on the other hand it feels like:

i was there three thousand years ago... | Warcraft movie, Warcraft ...
source

(Three, three thousand- it’s essentially the same.)

Since my brain died and I recently put all my creative juices in one basket, the said juices all drained away (baskets aren’t meant to hold juice) and I have been left with no choice but to give you a post of recycled glory…

…Essentially, a post full of stuff that I’ve already written, so that I don’t have to come up with something new using my non-existent creative juices.

Since this is a post commemorating my dear blog’s birthday, I think it would be fitting to shower you with things from the past- namely, quotes from past blog posts that I remember with embarrassment  extreme fondness.

We can see where this blog has been through the years, and celebrate all the profound things I have said in the past three years! I see no downside to this!

(Internal nervousness builds)

Hopefully this trip down memory lane is a pleasant one, and not something of a nightmare.

Let’s do this.

The Story Sponge Through the Ages:

2017


Quote the first (newborn sponge)

Fiction supposedly means “stuff that did not really happen,” but anyone who enjoys fiction to any degree knows that this is a lie. If fiction is not real, that means hobbits are not real and I refuse to believe that. –An Ode to Stories, June 29, 2017

My very first post. An introduction to my obsession with stories. And hobbits.


Quote the second (why I write)

I keep writing because… it would kill me to stop? (Too drastic?) Even when I have no ideas I have this strong desire to put words on paper. I need to write. Sometimes I feel like I will explode if I don’t. There is something inside of me, I think, that needs to come out, and I have to keep writing until I find the right words to express it. This will probably take the rest of my life.

(Okay, mate, enough with the melodrama). –Beautiful People #26-Author Writing Process Edition, July 17, 2017

My first ever link-up post. I was concerned that I wouldn’t do it legally. To this day I don’t really know if I did or not. But it was fun!


Quote the third (ah, metaphors)

The tricky thing about storytelling though, is that the tools often get mistaken for the stories themselves. It would be like someone getting so excited about the knitting needles that they decided to incorporate them into the sweater. Not a pleasant prospect. –How Do Stories Get Told? And What Is A Story Anyway? (A Very Informative Ramble Written By A Very Informed Sponge), December 11, 2017

I don’t do Story Rambles nearly enough. But that’s because they take way too much brain power. Which…I don’t have.

2018


Quote the fourth (ah, MORE metaphors)

This character is a coconut. They are tough and maybe nasty on the outside and will probably hurt you but on the inside they are a puddle. –10 Types Of Book Characters~Including Cardboard-Cut-Outs And Food Metaphors, January 17, 2018

Characters are my FAVORITE THINGS. I think I talked about glue and yarn in this post as well.


Quote the fifth (trying to sing)

When I say “range” I refer to your vocal range, not your stove-top or a large field full of cows that you happen to own. –Five Types Of Showtunes That Are Very Difficult To Sing (But Naturally We Attempt To Sing Them Anyway), April 15, 2018

I relate to this post way too much. Tune in to hear about  me feeling like a dying alpaca.


Quote the sixth (obligatory cake)

Also I deserve cake and ice cream and a blimp full of presents because it is MY BIRTHDAY. –Sponge’s Birthday Interrogation! (In Other Words: I Have Survived My First Year Of Blogging And I Made You Ask Me Questions So I Could Talk About Myself), June 29, 2018

My blog’s first birthday!

Now I have graduated to talking about myself without needing anyone to ask me anything.

2019


Quote the seventh (profound question)

Are fairy tales unrealistic, an ideal that we’ve fabricated to make life more bearable, or are they the manifestation of a truer world that we can just barely see? –Reflections On Cynicism~ In Which A Sponge Shares Her Safety Blanket With The World, March 29, 2019

Look, it’s me being deep and philosophical again.


Quote the eighth (featuring my parenting skills)

So WordPress helpfully reminded me about my blog’s birthday. Otherwise I would still be oblivious to the fact that it recently turned two years old. I AM SUCH A GREAT PARENT. –Two Years Old~In Which I Totally Forgot That It Was My Blog’s Birthday, July 5, 2019

Yeah…not much has changed actually.


Quote the ninth (singing is totally normal)

I mean, if newsboys in the 1800s and American founding fathers and ex-noble Russians express their feelings through heart-wrenching ballads and dance routines, why shouldn’t we? IT MUST BE NORMAL. –Books That Should Be Made Into Broadway Musicals~In Which We Encounter Emotional Turmoil And Smoked Salmon, October 11, 2019

I thought we needed more musicals in the world. I still do.


Quote the nine-and-a-halfth (helpful writing tips)

Plot twists are all fine and grand, until someone breaks the believability. –Ten Easy Steps To Becoming An Effective Writer~In Which The Steps Are Maybe Not So Easy After All, November 8, 2019

I was going to just do three quotes from each year, but I think we all know how good I am at counting by now.

2020


Quote the tenth (me at the beginning of this year)

Even though the passage of time is, in fact, painfully predictable, I still have great difficulty comprehending it. For a sponge like me, this whole 2020 thing is going to take some getting used to. –Characters From Yesteryear~ In Which I Haphazardly Try To Introduce My Children, January 3, 2020

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.


Quote the eleventh (Yup, more metaphors)

Writing Tip (in metaphor form): Instead of thinking of the writing itself as a generic subway train, taking you from one stop to another in a streamlined fashion, think of it as a living, breathing, creature (like your own personal dragon or unicorn or giant salamander) with its own unique gait, its own rhythm- a creature that can take you anywhere, and show you perspectives on things you never noticed before. –The Four Basic Story-Telling Ingredients~ Another Story Ramble From A Sponge, January 31, 2020

More writing about writing. Such fun.


Quote the twelfth (movie flailing)

There is a quest. There is a van. There is groovy music. There is air conditioning. There is a 90% chance of tears and a 100% chance of hugs. –Five Movies I Saw Recently And Actually Liked~ In Which I Flail About Phenomenal Acting, Accents, And Doughnuts

My summary of Pixar’s Onward. Essentially.


Epilogue

That wasn’t actually too bad.

I’m really happy with all the craziness this blog has allowed me to process and there are several posts that I am marginally proud of. Not that the embarrassing ones aren’t out there of course. But we don’t need to talk about them.

And lastly but not leastly…

I want to sincerely thank all of my faithful readers and bloggerly comrades. You have been fantastic and you make the blogging world a beautiful place. Thank you for your consistent encouragement and support of my blog. YOU ARE ALL LOVELY.  I look forward to enjoying your bloggerly brilliance in the future. You have made the last three years a blast!

Here is some cake.

Slice Of Cake GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY
source

How long have you been blogging? Do you have a hard time keeping track of birthdays? How has your blog evolved over time? Do you ever reread old blog posts? I hope you are all having spectacular blogging years!

27 thoughts on “The Story Sponge Through The Ages~ In Which Holy Moly, It’s Been Three Years And I Wonder How My Blog Is Still Alive

  1. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY, STORY SPONGE!!! *takes some cake, and tosses self-picking up confetti around* I love reading all of your witty posts. :DD Those quotes were very epic I applaud you. *applause* May there be many more years of posts from you!!!
    I have been blogging for almost 4 years on my book review blog and almost 3 on my personal one. (: And I usually don’t read old blog posts-too cringey. XDXD

    Liked by 2 people

    1. THANK YOU, MY FRIEND. Also, self-picking up confetti is GENIUS. We need this in the world.
      I am so grateful for your support and your generosity with cake.
      Wow, congratulations on almost four years for your book review blog! And your personal blog is practically the same age as mine!
      (Haha- yes, past cringey blog posts are certainly a real thing. I was actually surprised how much I liked some of my old stuff when I went back and looked at it…though the cringiness happened to. I just didn’t share those quotes. 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      Yes, and I was so pleased to have you join us here in the blogosphere! As an elder of three years of age, I find it thrilling to welcome new babies to the world and shower them with my seasoned wisdom….um…or something.
      Hm, editing old posts might not be the worst idea…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m flattered! I try to teach lots of Very Useful Things in my posts. 😉 Like “Don’t treat people like goldfish” and “How to sing like a dying alpaca.” Just the sorts of information one needs in everyday life.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Blogiversary!! I’ve been blogging for about a year now. I didn’t have much of an idea what I was doing at first, but I’d like to think I have more of a vision for what I want my blog to be now? I’ll have to read through your posts here later!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Congratulations on your first year of blogging! I’m happy to hear that you feel you have more of a vision now. I don’t know if I really have much more vision for my blog than I did at the beginning (I think it was just built to be haphazard from the start and not much has changed), but I feel more comfortable with it and I have definitely discovered some really neat bloggers over the years. At the beginning it was so overwhelming trying to find people.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh Story Sponge your blog and it’s posts are amazing.
    I also relate to too many of them (like trying to sing showtunes) (and failing)
    I think all bloggers owe gratitude to WordPress for letting them not forget their brain child’s birthday.
    Speaking of which, happy blogversiary!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you muchly, Evelyn! Why else do we blog if not to find people to relate to about the odd little things we do like trying (and failing) to sing showtunes? It is somehow comforting to know we are not alone in these habits.
      Indeed, I believe you are right about that. WordPress knew that our memories would fail us and built in that feature. They are very thoughtful that way.
      Thank you!

      Like

  4. AHH congratulations!! (Wow, I really tried to spell it as congragulations for a second. And then almost congrajulations.)
    I love all your writing metaphors. Especially the one of writing as my own breathing creature–I’m trying to decide what my creature would be, but both dragons and unicorns seem like tempting options. That lines is BEAUTIFUL, Story Sponge. I need to write it down in my notebooks.
    Hahah, I liked your quote from your second blogversiary then and I still like it now.
    Thank you for your cake. I hope yours was delicious :))
    Also, I was talking to Lucy at Not All Who Sonder about Inception this past week, and I pulled up our conversation about the ending and told her your point about how if it wasn’t real, he wouldn’t have spun it in the first place. She was very much convinced by it as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Annie! Ah, I understand the struggles of spelling that particular word. It is a challenge.
      Many thanks, I am so pleased that you like my writing metaphors! I like them too. I wish that they actually helped me to write better…but they are quite fun to make up even if they don’t necessarily improve my writing.
      You are most welcome for the cake. Mine was excellent.
      Oh, that is so cool that my argument convinced Lucy as well! That was a great conversation we had about Inception. I enjoyed that.
      Thank you so much again for your lovely comment and all your support!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations Sponge on three awesome years! 😀 I can’t wait to see what these next ones will bring. And I absolutely love those quotes. All the metaphors were especially full of sage wisdom and stunning wonder! I want to read them over and over and over again. Delightful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. HAPPIEST OF BLOGOVERSARY’s, Sponge!!! ❤️ Your blog is the absolute best.
    Your posts have afforded me much amusement and entertainment and here’s wishing you many more years of blogging!
    That cake gif just makes me so happy. Also, this sentence:
    “I mean, if newsboys in the 1800s and American founding fathers and ex-noble Russians express their feelings through heart-wrenching ballads and dance routines, why shouldn’t we?” (I’m dead. 🤣🤣🤣)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment