Bookish Reviewish~ In Which Some Authors Go Overboard With Chocolate Pizza And Face Bones But We Are Consoled By Cousin Wholesomeness, Whimsy, And Sunny Sundown

Hello and good day, my bloggerly chums!

It’s time for the Grand Entrance of All the Books I Have Read This Year Thus Far (cue trumpet fanfare), as well as the Very Deep and Lucid Thoughts I have about said books.

In short, it’s time for another Bookish Reviewish post.

A digression: Recently, for reasons unknown to me (or in fact anyone), the random Capitalization of Things has gotten rather out of hand in my writing. Maybe it’s my wishful thinking that I will become A.A. Milne someday? Who knows? At any rate, I apologize if such overuse of capitalization offends anyone’s grammatical senses.

Back to the Matter at Hand (namely, bookish reviewishness.)

The Guardians Series by William Joyce

My sister read this ages ago and for some reason I am just now getting to it? Even though it’s whimsical, charmingly illustrated children’s fantasy, which is really just the kind of thing I like.

It’s sort of an origin story for well-known mythic figures (such as Santa Claus, the Tooth Fairy, Sandman, Mother Goose, etc.), and sort of not. There is lots of magic and lore and glorious illustrations and epic backstory and a clear love of story itself.

YEA:

  • Nightlight/Jack Frost (such a shameless Peter Pan rip-off but I’m not complaining)
  • William Joyce low-key implying that J.M. Barrie stole Jack Frost from him, not the other way around (why do I find this so hilarious?)
  • Nicholas St. North being the BEST version of Santa EVER (except for my sister’s, of course)
  • Toothiana being SO INTENSE and having the Angst, you know
  • Katherine having such a deep love of storytelling (because same)
  • ALL THE BACKSTORY (there is so much rich, golden age lore and I love it)
  • Twiner (because who doesn’t want a talking staff?)
  • Jack’s journey (I have FEELINGS about this, okay?)
  • All the Williams
  • daggers made out of tears (because how is that not amazing?)
  • The GORGEOUS illustrations (seriously, so lovely)
  • the 100% whimsy of everything
  • the warrior librarians in book 5 (THEY FIGHT USING ONOMATOPOEIA. Come on, who doesn’t want that?)

NAY:

  • Sometimes the magic making me go…eh?
  • All the exclamation marks! Especially in the first book! William, sir, we are not three-years-old! Please! I beg of you! DESIST!
  • “I believe I believe I believe” (I know, I know, it’s kind of a big part of the whole thing, but…such a lame mantra, guys)
  • Bunnymund being…just kind of creepy, okay
  • the low-key child worship mentality (you know what I mean, right?)
  • conflicts resolving too easily (probably partly due to target age, but whatever. Give me more PERIL)

Verdict: While perhaps a better mantra might have been chosen, overall these books are delightfully whimsical and whimsically charming and absolutely worth reading.

The Candymakers by Wendy Mass

Logan, Miles, Daisy, and Philip, four twelve-year-olds from varying backgrounds, are competing against each other in a candymaking contest. For them, it’s kind of a big deal. For me it’s kind of…not.

YEA:

  • the format (the perspective shifts gave me Hoodwinked vibes, which is a high compliment)
  • Philip being Philip (this kid. I could not take him seriously. I was laughing at his Drama so hard.)
  • But also, the angst (because there was actually some there that I wasn’t laughing at)
  • Reggie being Wholesome
  • Henry being Wholesome
  • Miles being Miles (just a sweetheart who wants to give people the hugs they deserve)
  • Unreliable narrator vibes (just a little bit, but still good)
  • the unfolding (you know how I like it when things unfold)
  • AJ (why do I love him?)
  • wholesome friendships 🙂

NAY:

  • It made me feel Old (the Middle Grade Flavor was strong with this one, folks)
  • It took me about…130 pages to get into (largely due to the aforementioned MG flavor)
  • WAY. TOO. MUCH. CANDY. (Not that I should have expected anything less, it being about candymakers and all, but still. Sometimes the excessive saccharine content made me feel a little sick to my stomach. Espeically the excessive amount of chocolate pizza consumed…blegh)
  • the way it tried Really Hard to be The Mysterious Benedict Society…but wasn’t

Verdict: It was certainly a little painful getting into, but it ended up being significantly more entertaining than I expected from the first 130 pages. It probably would have been even more entertaining if I was actually twelve. Some enjoyment was definitely lost due to the Middle Grade Flavor. Overall worth it if only for AJ being his lovely self.

The Ball and the Cross by G.K. Chesterton

Okay, so basically Evan and James have a dispute revolving around religion and decide that they need to have a proper duel to settle the thing, NO MATTER WHO OR WHAT STANDS IN THEIR WAY (and there are going to be LOTS of Things, let me tell you).

YEA:

  • Brother Michael (the guy is so serene, I don’t even know what to do with him)
  • Chesterton’s writing (this man is a MASTER of words, and I’m only slightly jealous)
  • Evan McIan (SO SERIOUS about EVERYTHING, bless him)
  • James Turnbull (such sass, though)
  • the number of times the duel is Interrupted
  • Mr. Wilkinson and his yacht
  • the satirical commentary on all the things
  • “we are improving Life by removing lives” (I find this so morbidly funny)
  • Beatrice Drake and her certificate of lunacy
  • the general hilarity of everything (I laughed out loud multiple times during the course of reading this)

NAY:

  • that one awkward time that Evan was kinda racist?
  • Sometimes the theological conversations dragged on a tad long, maybe? It can sometimes feel like it’s straying from story to essay, but the essays are interesting so I’m not really complaining about that
  • Other than that it was pretty much perfect

Verdict: This book is comedic gold, guys. But also extremely thought-provoking, which is a spectacular combination. I was not expecting to enjoy myself so thoroughly. I guess I need more Chesterton in my life.

The Wanderer by Sharon Creech

Thirteen-year-old Sophie, three uncles and two cousins are going to sail across the Atlantic to England to visit her grandfather. (Sophie may be excited about such an adventure but to me that sounds a bit nightmarish and TERRIFYING.) The book goes back and forth between Sophie’s perspective and her cousin Cody’s perspective, as they both give us accounts of their journey.

YEA:

  • UNRELIABLE NARRATOR
  • Sophie’s voice
  • Cody’s voice
  • Cody (can I hug him, please)
  • Sophie (THIS DEAR CHILD)
  • COUSINS (I am always here for cousin stories, folks)
  • the uncles
  • Brian being such a Percy Weasley (I love him, I do)
  • Bompie’s stories
  • Sophie’s stories
  • the OCEAN (even though sometimes it’s TERRIFYING)
  • the survival angst and the smidgen of peril (gotta love the peril…when you are safe on your couch at home and it’s just the characters who have to deal with it)
  • the father/son angst
  • Possible trauma
  • did I mention the UNRELIABLE NARRATOR

NAY:

  • um…nothing really is wrong with it?
  • maybe it ended too soon
  • maybe Rosalie annoyed me a tiny bit

Verdict: I loved it, actually. It’s such a beautiful little book about family and a love of nature and stories and it’s ABSOLUTELY SPLENDID.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman (reread)

So…I’m sure you know the story: “As you wish”, “Inconceivable!”, “He’s only mostly dead”, “My-name-is-Inigo-Montoya-you-killed-my-father-prepare-to-die” and all that. It’s all in there. Mostly.

YEA:

  • the formatting (I love the way William Goldman pretends to be “abridging” an old classic. Such opportunity for humor)
  • the general ridiculousness nature of the story, which takes itself Very Seriously
  • Fezzik (MY POOR BABY)
  • Fezzik’s Tragic Backstory (THE WORLD IS SO CRUEL AND FEZZIK IS ALL ALONE AND HIS PARENTS ARE THE WORST PARENTS HOW COULD THEY BE SO MEAN??)
  • Inigo (DEAR CONFUSED CHILD)
  • Inigo’s Tragic Backstory (SOMEONE SAVE HIM FROM THE TRAUMA)
  • Inigo and Fezzik being Best Friends (for being all-out criminals, they are So Wholesome)
  • Miracle Max and Valerie (they make me smile)
  • This was after stew

NAY:

  • the introduction (I just shouldn’t have read the introduction. William Goldman is just Not Nice to his family and I do not like it)
  • the way it ends (just no, please)
  • the way it feels so long…the movie is a better length, honestly
  • Westley being Completely Shallow (somehow movie Westley is just more likable?)
  • Buttercup being Completely Stupid (like, it’s funny except when it’s not)
  • Not enough Fezzik and Inigo because, let’s face it, they are the only characters I want to read about at this point

Verdict: While there are truly clever and humorous things you get in the book that aren’t in the movie it tends to drag for me, and overall the movie is my preferred version- with the noted exception of the fact that they didn’t include Fezzik’s backstory.

The Forgotten Beasts of Eld by Patricia A. McKillip

Well, this is Fantasy. It tries very hard to make sure we don’t forget it.

(Spoiler: we do not.)

Our protagonist is a female Newt Scamander (not really, but still- she’s an unsocial wizard who keeps a collection of magical creatures, so). There are warring noble families and romance a mountain and forests and a dragon and stuff along those lines. Like I said: Fantasy.

YEA:

  • Maelga being a feisty old lady (and the only reasonable human most of the time)
  • Tam being a sweetheart (precious innocent child)
  • the fact that I found it so Hilarious (just not for the intended reasons…)
  • Coren sometimes having valid arguments about how marriage should work
  • Sybel sometimes being sort of interesting in her Bad Decision-Making career
  • the Name Thing (names are so important and I loved what they did with that)

NAY:

  • Um…the fact that there were similes in practically EVERY sentence (not that I’m opposed to poetic language but this was…overkill)
  • the SOAP-OPERA-LEVEL DRAMA (it took itself WAY too seriously…so I laughed at it)
  • the love?? triangle?? (…or whatever that was)
  • the overly aggressive FANTASY vibes (I love fantasy, I do, but…it was a bit much)
  • The I-just-want-to-be-as-cool-as-LOTR vibes (sorry, but no, you’re just not)

Verdict: It was a pretty entertaining book, but at the end of the day I just could NOT take it as seriously as it obviously wanted me to. It’s like it was trying too hard, I guess. I really got a kick out of the author’s obsession with people’s face bones, though.

Danny the Champion of the World by Roald Dahl

So, Danny has the Best Dad Ever, and they live happily together, just the two of them. But Danny’s dad has a secret that’s about to make him even more fun.

YEA:

  • Roald Dahl’s writing (the man just knows how to tell stories)
  • the fact that it’s about a positive father-son relationship

NAY:

  • Roald Dahl’s propensity to belittle and demonize certain people (I don’t know why this bothers me sometimes? I know I shouldn’t take it seriously, but still.)

Verdict: It was well-done, but I didn’t particularly care for the story.

Peace Like a River by Leif Enger

Things often happen around Reuben’s dad that can’t be explained. One might say that he performs miracles. But to Davy, Reuben and Swede, he is just their dad.

You know, I actually haven’t a clue how to describe this book without giving anything away, so I’m not even going to try.

YEA:

  • Rueben (this kid is such a sweetheart, and his narration is gold)
  • Swede (the SASS, though)
  • Sunny Sundown (a creation of Swede’s that the story would be markedly poorer without)
  • Swede’s typewriter (just everything about Swede, honestly)
  • the descriptions of the LAND (and I don’t mean because their last name is Land)
  • the Trauma (gotta love a book with trauma, right?)
  • Roxanna keeping goats in her bathroom (my cousins did this, so)
  • the metaphors (just..really good)
  • the complexity of the relationships (YES. But also PAIN)

NAY:

  • Um, there isn’t much to complain about?
  • Except maybe that the ending felt a tad rushed.
  • And the “heaven” bit was underwhelming, but trying to write heaven is a tricky business, and it certainly wasn’t the worst
  • And I’m not sure what I think about a certain couple becoming a Thing, but I’m picky that way

Verdict: A rich, poignant story about SIBLINGS and consequences and the power of faith and Sunny Sundown. I kind of loved it, actually.

Liesl and Po by Lauren Oliver

Liesl’s father has been dead for three days when the ghost appears in her attic room. Will, an alchemist’s apprentice, makes a Serious Mistake due to Severe Sleep Deprivation. And thus our story is born.

YEA:

  • Po (this ghost is basically ME, guys. Po is just Done with Everything)
  • Will (DARLING CHILD who doesn’t recognize well-meaning bestowers of hats even if they’re staring him in the face)
  • Mo (the most wholesome, well-meaning bestower of hats that ever walked this earth)
  • the morbid humor (I enjoy it…errr)
  • the masterful whimsy (Middle Grade at it’s finest!!!)
  • Will, Po and Liesl just being the BEST
  • Po being in Denial
  • Bundle being the Most Pure Animal Companion

NAY:

  • not getting to find out about Po (TELL ME)
  • I’m still not actually the greatest fan of ghosts?

Verdict: This book is DELIGHTFUL and I loved it immensely. Very charming and reminiscent of things like The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo and classic fairy tales.

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Guy Montag burns books for a living. Because, you know, books are illegal. Think of all the things written in books that might offend someone or other. Most unpleasant. Much better just to burn them all.

YEA:

  • the CONCEPTS (the society and the books and the ideas and YES YES YES)
  • Beatty (super disturbing, but fascinating at the same time)
  • Mildred being so Disconnected (I wasn’t expecting her to make me so SAD)
  • Montag’s angst (because…I love angst)
  • Faber’s ramblings (just all the things he says)

NAY:

  • the character’s weren’t actually terribly interesting?
  • sometimes the plot was…eh.

Verdict: The concepts in this are so strong and thought-provoking, but I wasn’t super impressed with any of the characters.

The Lions of Little Rock by Kristin Levine

Marlee is Quiet. Really quiet. But in a town fraught with racism, she’s going to need to find her voice if she wants anything to change. As is often the case, the motivation will probably come when things get personal…

YEA:

  • Liz and Marlee being such wholesome friends
  • Marlee, Judy and David being such wholesome siblings
  • Marlee being just so quiet and socially anxious (younger me can relate)
  • Marlee growing but not turning into a completely different person
  • Liz being Liz (love this girl)
  • PEOPLE being PEOPLE (because it can be amazing)
  • the history! (even if it’s kind of terrible at times…humans do stupid stuff)
  • Mr. Brewer (who isn’t actually a character, but the mention of him in passing is glorious)
  • JT maybe not being the scum of the earth?

NAY:

  • I don’t get public schools (I was homeschooled, son, sorry)
  • PEOPLE being PEOPLE (because it can be REALLY AWFUL)
  • Red being the scum of the earth
  • the slight MG aftertaste (overall I think the author did a good job with keeping the Middle Grade flavor at a minimum, but she’s no Gary D. Schmidt is all I’m saying)

Verdict: A solid MG historical fiction piece with engaging, wholesome characters.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery

A pilot, stranded in the middle of the desert, meets a strange little person who tells him about his travels.

YEA:

  • the intense childhood nostalgia feelings (never read this but the feelings are strong…like Peter Pan)
  • the simplistic whimsy and charm
  • the author’s first two drawings (why do I love these so much?)
  • the storytelling
  • the thoughtfulness of the thing
  • the sunsets (I’m not crying, I swear)

NAY:

  • so…not sure how I feel about the ending? Could be a great metaphor, but also just kind of rubs me the wrong way…

Verdict: I don’t know what to do with it. It gave me feelings.

Epilogue

I love books. So. Much. I am quite pleased with the books I’ve read this year thus far, and writing this post made me happy. I hope that at least one of these stories piqued your interest.

This post is a monster already so I am not going to talk about this, but I also read The Silver Eye (my first webcomic, guys) in February (thanks to this post by Sarah Seele) and I’m a little obsessed now. You will no doubt be hearing more about that in future posts.

I also started reading the famous Comic Space Opera finally! So much fun, guys.

(You may or may not have noticed that I have posted two weeks in a row. I’m going to post every Friday instead of every other Friday from now on- at least for a little while.)

What have you been reading lately? Do you geek out about cousins and siblings in books? Are you as enthralled with the whimsy as I am? What do you think of characters with a desire to give people hats? Do you have a burning desire to meet Sunny Sundown now?

11 thoughts on “Bookish Reviewish~ In Which Some Authors Go Overboard With Chocolate Pizza And Face Bones But We Are Consoled By Cousin Wholesomeness, Whimsy, And Sunny Sundown

  1. Well. Daggers made out of tears and onomatopoeia warriors. I am sold. Despite exclamation marks and child worship (which I think I do know what you mean about). Even despite “I believe I believe I believe” which honestly should scare me off from any book ever.

    I haven’t read The Ball and the Cross yet, but I know another blogger whose absolute favorite Chesterton story it is, and as if that didn’t already make me excited to read it…now you say all this scrumptious stuff about it. Although I haven’t read this particular one, I love what you said about how he’s a master of words and just like, writes beautifully, but also is sometimes laugh-out-loud FUNNY, and sometimes his stories turn into essays bu the essays are cool and it’s just a grand experience? That’s exactly what he’s like and I really love his writing and I’m SO GLAD you’re loving it too!
    😍😍 Also my sister gave The Wanderer to me. I seriously can’t wait to read it. I mean, SAILING. That alone. I have never sailed on the ocean but I WANT TO.

    Fezzik and Inigo are the PUREST. I like the movie better too (though YES I wish Fezzik’s backstory was in there 😭😭), and I feel like I like the idea of the book much more than the actual execution?? Maybe it’s just the author interludes. I really don’t appreciate how Goldman treats his family either. Also I guess I think the book is more depressing than the movie, because yes the movie is satirical…but it doesn’t go out of its way to be? It has an unashamed fun with the stupid elements within it that it’s satirizing, which is my favorite kind of satire.

    Wow thanks for making me sad about Mildred. 😥

    YOU READ THE LIONS OF LITTLE ROCK. AND YOU LIKED IT. Huzzah! I ADORE Marlee’s and Liz’s friendship, as well as how Marlee’s character development is actual development of her character, as opposed to her becoming a completely different and supposedly better person (I think the next story that tells me it’s positive character development to go from a shy quiet person to a fashionable party-loving extrovert? I think I will punch it in the face), and Liz being Liz. And yeah. The history. I too do not get public schools, though. The whole time I was reading it, in the back of my mind I was all, “wait this is about opening up schools, right? wait but why do they care? why does this matter so much?” And it’s extraordinary how few authors are Gary D Schmidt…or, you know, can make good middle grade stories that don’t have a bit of that trademark MG flavor. I actually don’t quite understand why it’s so hard to do. Oh well.

    THE LITTLE PRINCE. I must reread this darling book.
    The author’s first two drawings. ❤
    Also what are you thinking the ending could be a metaphor for? I am curious.

    This post gave me GREAT happiness (partially because I’ve read a lot of these myself and SUCH GOOD BOOKS THEY ARE), and my interest is highly piqued in several of the ones I haven’t read! And TSE and CSO!!!! And yes cousins are the best!!!! And I am so glad you’ve read such good books so far and I’m also so glad you’re gonna post more frequently for a bit because more Sponge content is a blessing to the blogosphere (at least in my opinion). So yes. I shall end this monstrously long comment forthwith, but just know that I enjoyed this post SO MUCH (clearly, since I have no time to do anything these days but still made the time to leave a monster comment anyway heh)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tear daggers and onomatopoeia warriors are definitely lovely to behold. I kind of thought that the sheer cringe-worthyness of “I believe I believe I believe” would sour the whole story experience, but shockingly it does not.

      Ah, The Ball and the Cross was just so entertaining! I liked it better than The Napoleon of Notting Hill. It was just so hilarious to me for some reason, my kind of humor apparently. I still can’t get over how often I laughed out loud while reading it. I am very thankful to you for first bringing Chesterton into the forefront of my mind.

      Oh, I’m excited for you to read The Wanderer! It was just such a lovely little book. Cousins, though, I am partial to cousins. 🙂

      I love all your thoughts on The Princess Bride! I totally get what you mean about liking the idea better than the execution. And the book IS more depressing…I don’t like that. The movie is just so lovely. BUT FEZZIK AND INIGO. I am glad that you appreciate them as well. I love them dearly.

      Hm, yes, you’re welcome. People who don’t realize how Not Okay they are are just…so heartbreaking. Especially when they just get LEFT like that and don’t get a character arc. THANKS FOR THE DEPRESSION, MR. BRADBURY.

      YES. Thank you so much for the recommendation! It was so delightful. Marlee and Liz are the sweetest, and I love how it wasn’t just a classic “rebelling against the parents” thing. Like, they did that but the consequences were complicated and it was more nuanced than just “the parents were stupid”. And the school thing! “Wait, why do they care?” That is EXACTLY how I was thinking about it the whole time! I was like, okay, I get that segregation is bad and racism is bad, but…this is about…opening public schools?? Confusion? Glad to know I’m not alone in that, haha. Yeah, I don’t get why so many MG books are plagued by the MG flavor either? I mean, how hard is it to just…not do that?

      So…if maybe the Little Prince was a Christ figure and his flower is like…us, and he needs to take care of us, and in order to get back to the flower because he loves it he lets himself be killed…? Or something like that. It’s a very loose metaphor. But at the same time it also just kind of feels weirdly suicidal, which I didn’t like. I don’t know.

      Thank you, Sarah! I always love reading your comments, be they monstrously long or average sized. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hm. I find the Capitalization of Things amusing, and if that’s something that contributes to your voice, I don’t see a problem with it…

    I’m slightly tempted to read the Guardians series *just* for warrior libraries, but I REALLY don’t have time for that. XD

    I remember reading The Candymakers, but I don’t remember much about it…except it definitely had the wanting-to-be-Mysterious-Benedict-Society-but-not-being-it feeling that I’ve come across several times in MG reads…it’s always most disappointing.

    Oh DEAR The Ball and the Cross is SO GOOD! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! The Interruptions and the satirical commentary and the EVERYTHING, and the way it’s utterly hilarious and utterly serious at once…it’s just gorgeous. ❤ (I loved the theological conversations, length notwithstanding, but hey, I'm also a nerd). Comedic gold + thought provoking is something Chesterton does brilliantly even in his nonfiction (in my opinion)! You DEFINITELY need more of him in your life. (For another something rather similar to BatC in tone, but entirely different in issues explored, try The Napoleon of Notting Hill. :))

    Hmm. I'm so very tempted by unreliable narrators, but I again just do not have time for The Wanderer! GAH.

    The Princess Bride is such a wonderful book! It's one of the few things where I think the movie is on par with the book, which is saying something. Fezzik's Tragic Backstory is the WORST and he just needs HUGS!
    Does it help if I tell you that the introduction is ENTIRELY made up? It's fiction. Falsified. Pretty sure he doesn't actually have a son in real life. None of it actually happened. I had a similar reaction the first time I read it, and then I figured out the fictitiousness and felt loads better.

    I think I would find The Forgotten Beasts of Eld irritating for the same reason you did, buuuuuut for valid arguments about marriage and a Name Thing? Halp.

    GOATS IN THE BATHROOM I MUST read Peace Like a River. Need. Going on TBR immediately. (We've had goats in our bathroom, too, briefly. It's most enjoyable, although I prefer goats in the living room, tbh.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SHOOT how did I not see the part about The Little Prince?????

      I just read that one for the first time, and…ayyyyyyyyyy it gave me feelings, too. GAH. I don’t know how to express how I feel about it, except LOVE. And the sketches and the storytelling are so perfect, and the sunsets, and the fox, and ❤ ❤ <3.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Well, I’m Very Glad that my capitalization does not seem like a Problem to you. 🙂

      Alas, there are SO MANY BOOKS and NOT ENOUGH TIME to read them all, and it’s one of life’s tragedies.

      Yes! The Mysterious Benedict Society is somehow just…brilliant, and all the other books are trying so hard, but just can’t attain that level of excellence. It’s rather sad.

      I read The Napoleon of Notting Hill! It was the first Chesterton book I read, and I greatly enjoyed it, though I think I enjoyed The Ball and the Cross even more. 🙂

      Well, as for the falsification of the introduction making me feel better, yes and no. Because of course it’s nice to know that those actual things didn’t happen, but the tone of the thing still rubs me the wrong way? It still just feels (as Sarah Seele just put it) cynical. The cynical nature of the book irks me. I empathically agree with you that Fezzik needs hugs.

      Haha, I know. It was such a mixed bag. It was overall just so entertaining because I laughed at everything though, even the things they wanted me to take Very Seriously.

      Haha, goats in the living room. I’ve never experienced such a thing, but I’m sure it’s quite entertaining.

      Like

  3. This post was gloriously good fun to read. 🙂 I don’t think I know most of the books on it though, lol. You and your sister both just have a way of making mass book reviews extremely entertaining.
    Hmm. I mean, on second thought, I’ve heard of a lot of them, but I haven’t read them. Aside from Liesl and Po of course. Good gracious yes Po is #relatable—and THE MASTERFUL WHIMSY. YES. THANK YOU. MORE PLEASE. Ahem. Yes, I really love that book, and I’m so glad to see somebody else appreciating it. ❤
    After another look over the list I am realizing I read more of them than I had originally thought. The ones I have in mind are a) The Ball and the Cross, which is one of those books that I started and regretfully have yet to finish, despite being gloriously entertained by. I have no excuse except Real Life. And b) The Little Prince!! I was very glad to see that one on the list. Your overall verdict cracked me up and…yep, that's probably about how I feel about it too lol. It's lovely but just…what.
    (Also, I love the Capitalization. A.A. Milne for the win.)
    (Also YOU STARTED READING CSO. I AM SO EXCITED. Who's your favorite character so far?)
    (Also (this is really the last also) I'm glad to hear you'll probably be posting more for a while 'cuz your posts are great fun. 😀 <3)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am pleased to be the cause of gloriously good fun!

      Liesl and Po was so LOVELY. I related to Po so much. I loved how wholesome Mo was and it made me ridiculously happy that he was there to look out for Liesl and Will in the end. And WILL IS MY SON. I loved…pretty much everything about it. Thank you so much for recommending it on your blog! Without you I would still be woefully oblivious to its excellence.

      Ah, The Ball and the Cross is SO HILARIOUS. It just gets funnier as it goes on, honestly. So good. The Little Prince. The feelings. The…what. Yup.

      (Hehe, thanks. I am partial to A.A. Milne.)

      (EEP. So thanks for reminding me to start reading The Comic Space Opera, since I’ve been meaning to for like…a year. My favorite character is…probably Jude, honestly? But I am also QUITE fond of Prince Ferdinand. And I like Christina and Raf, and I’ve grown rather attached to Gubrettij and Tortxof? I am slightly less than halfway through season 2. Also I’ve realized that I am Dick because I am obsessed with making playlists. 🙂 )

      (Thank you! I’m happy to hear that.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment