Maybe I’m A Little Bit Obsessed With Backstory~ In Which I Pine After Non-Existent Prequels

Greetings, bloggerly chums!

I love the idea of prequels. Prequels can enhance the experience of the original story by expounding on the world and by deepening my understanding of the characters. Also backstory is generally angsty, so. I am kind of obsessed with backstories as a species.

There are many characters about which I would love to read a prequel that does not currently exist. There is so much raw potential! There is so much angst to be explored!

It’s probably for the best that these prequels don’t exist, because in all likelihood they would not do the original characters justice. ‘Tis more often best to leave a story as it is. In my heart I know this.

But that doesn’t stop me from dreaming about prequels that I would like to read anyway.

Here are some characters I would definitely want to read prequels about, assuming that they were executed properly:

Faramir and Boromir from The Lord of the Rings

I think we can all agree that Faramir and Boromir have a truly excellent brother relationship. We only get a glimpse of it in the story, though. Obviously excellent brother relationships are something that I always want to see more of. Especially when angst is involved, and the existence of Denethor, Worst Dad in Middle Earth, certainly provides much opportunity for angst.

I would love to see these two growing up together. I would love to meet their mother (and watch her DIE, causing grief and angst). Mostly I just want to see Faramir and Boromir interacting and overcoming the challenges of their circumstances and being there for each other. It would be so wholesome.

Éowyn and Éomer from The Lord of the Rings

Hem, yes, more LOTR. (There are just a lot of characters from that impeccable story that I want to read more about, okay?)

Éowyn and Éomer are siblings, first of all, so of course I want to read more about them. Second of all, there is angst because they are orphans (apparently I like to watch children suffer??). Seeing these two interact more is an entirely agreeable prospect that I would not say no to.

Also we would get to explore Rohan on a deeper level. We would get to see Théoden pre-Saruman-induced-corruption. Also this book would have COUSINS because Théodred would still be alive…yeah. I think it would be cool.

Megan and Howell Jenkins from Howl’s Moving Castle

Obviously such a book would have a markedly different flavor than the original, seeing as it would take place mainly in Wales. But Howl would still be Howl, and that’s kind of the important thing.

The only time we really see Megan in HMC she is hardcore berating her brother (not without good reason, I might add), and it’s clear that their relationship is anything but serene (not that any relationship involving Howl could possibly be serene, but anyway). In spite of this, it’s also clear that they really care about each other. I want to know what their childhood was like and all the ways that they made each other miserable. It would be most entertaining. Quarrelsome siblings who secretly love each other are precious.

The Marauders from Harry Potter

…But mostly about Remus, actually. A story about baby Remus going to school for the first time and meeting James, Sirius and Peter would be kind of the best. I would love to see their friendship evolve, and of course all the outlandish mischief they get up to would be vastly entertaining. (Not as entertaining as the ANGST, but you know.) Remus would be such a preciously angsty adolescent/teen to read about and you know I’m all about that.

It would also be great to meet Lily from Remus’s perspective. I would love to read more about their friendship, because it sounds like it was super sweet.

Regulus Black from Harry Potter

Okay, so there are actually about a dozen HP characters I want prequels for. And Regulus is very near the top of the list, because…actually I don’t exactly know why. The whole Black family dynamic is super depressing and dysfunctional (so…angst, I guess?). I have sympathy for Sirius, but I also have major issues with the guy, and I find his younger brother to be a much more sympathetic character…despite the fact that it takes him so long to figure out that Voldemort is, well…totally evil.

I want to see Regulus grappling with All the Things and finally realizing that his upbringing was totally warped and what he’s gotten mixed up in is SO WRONG. (He actually has an EXCELLENT character arc for being in, like, one chapter of the entire series, guys. More of this, please.)

Also the dynamic between Sirius and Regulus would be a fantastic thing to develop. Because the next best thing to wholesome sibling relationships is super unhealthy sibling relationships, am I right?

Artham and Esben from The Wingfeather Saga

Would you look at that? More siblings. I guess it’s a thing with me.

As you may know, I have my issues with this series, but that didn’t stop me from falling in love with several of the characters. Artham and Esben are definitely two of my favorites. I would love to see them as kids, and also as young adults, before all the HORROR and PAIN brutally tore their lives apart. (I’m all for the horror and pain, but also happy times are good, too.)

We know that they were close, but we don’t really get to see them interact in the series. And a pre-Gnag Anneira wouldn’t be a bad thing to see? Just give me all the siblingness.

Jacques, Kit and Lemony Snicket (but also Dewey) from A Series of Unfortunate Events

MORE SIBLINGS. The thing is, I know that Daniel Handler is NEVER going to tell us what’s up with all the secret organizations and drama around here, but in my fantasy world we get to know all about how these kids grew up and all the unfortunate events that led up to the other events that were equally unfortunate.

There is much potential here. Kids joining secret organizations that may or may not be sketchy. Snickets being witty and clever and just the most decent human beings. Siblings. Schisms. Oodles of history and groundwork for the original series.

(Handler actually did write a prequel series featuring a young Lemony and (very briefly) a young Kit, but it’s horribly disappointing and not true to the original series at all.)

Number Two from The Mysterious Benedict Society

Number Two is such a quirky, endearing character, and I would thoroughly enjoy a story about her childhood and how she came to know Mr. Benedict. Her backstory is most intriguing to me. Who was she before she became Number Two?

Of course I would want it to include the appearance of Rhonda as well. (Because siblings. Obviously.) More of these two interacting would be such a good thing.

Also, just think how many pickles such a volume might contain.

Milligan from The Mysterious Benedict Society

I just love Milligan. So much. I want his whole life story. All the things that his Amnesia took away from him. Tell us where he grew up and how he got his Special Job and about his family. There is much here to be explored, and I am here for it.

(I tried very hard to be Vague and not give Things away to anyone who has for some inexplicable reason not yet read this treasured book, so be proud of me.)

Eugenides from The Queen’s Thief series

So…this kid has the most Messed Up childhood. I kind of want to know more, but I kind of don’t. There are cousins, though. Of wholesome and horrendous varieties. And presumably siblings. As well as parents, living and dead. And grandparents, possibly of the trauma inducing variety. Unhealth and dysfunction galore. So much trauma.

I kind of get that for Gen to be shrouded in mystery and shadow is part of what makes him who he is, but I still want to know more details of his trauma all the same. There is just so much there.

Not to mention this book would contain more Helen, and I’m here for that.

Justin from Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH

So we get the Nicodemus backstory which is superb, but I would adore a more fleshed out version of the story from Justin’s perspective. I want to know about Justin’s family before he was captured, and just all the details of the NIMH experience from his point of view. Because, you know, I love Justin.

Haymitch from The Hunger Games

This one would also be horrendously depressing. But I still kind of want it. Haymitch had a BROTHER, so. Apparently I just want a dramatized version of President Snow utterly destroying this poor child’s life. Yay depression.

Part of me wants backstories for a bunch of the past Victors (like Joanna and Finnick, for example), but part of me knows that’s…really not a good idea.

Joshua and Bhatair from The Silver Eye

But mostly Bhatair. Because DEATH AND TRAUMA!!!

Um. Well, you know. There were siblings, and then the siblings were dead. Much violence and suffering and all that. Bhatair has the Issues, okay? And Joshua does NOT know how to approach that kind of situation at ALL. I just want to see more of these two interacting, as well as individual character development and the political movements going on.

Lin, Lanfan and Fu from Fullmetal Alchemist

So I have major issues with how Lin’s character arc pans out (MAJOR ISSUES), but I really like the kid in spite of that, and I am muchly intrigued by his backstory. I’m not quite sure why. Maybe it’s just because I really like this one piece of fanart that I saw on Pinterest.

Look at this happy child. And Lanfan’s face. Not to mention that Fu is just an iconic grandpa, and we need more of him.

But anyway, the political situation in Xing is quite interesting (if a bit on the messed-up spectrum of things, just saying). There is certainly potential for a good story here.

Yugo and Lucas from The Promised Neverland

Honorary bros, guys. They may not be blood brothers, but they may as well be. Also trauma (bet you didn’t see that coming). These kids escaped, but at a much higher cost than the Grace Field kids. I want to see them going through the discovery process and the escape and then…well, you know. The horrible death and destruction that followed, scarring them for life. What a cheerful book this would be. But also, siblings.

Epilogue

I greatly enjoy fantasizing about these non-existent prequels, but it’s certainly for the best that they are not to be. I just know that they would be horribly botched (I mean, the Snicket prequel is a prime example of this). A good story always leaves you wanting more, but it can’t always give it to you, and most of the time it probably shouldn’t. If nothing was left up to mystery, the magic would be gone.

Hm, how deep that was.

(The random smattering of super cool fanart came from Pinterest.)

What are some characters that you want prequels for? Do you prefer prequels or sequels? What is your favorite existing prequel? What is a prequel that you think totally disrespects the original story?

14 thoughts on “Maybe I’m A Little Bit Obsessed With Backstory~ In Which I Pine After Non-Existent Prequels

  1. There’s something so…bittersweet (and angsty!) about prequel stories,, I ADORE them even though we know how all these characters end up in the future. I’d love to read a story about faramir and boromir!! (Haymitch’s backstory would HURT ouch why would you even write that idea)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes! It is fascinating how compelling prequels can be, even though we already know how everything “ends up”, so to speak. Prequels can be so special if they are done properly. More Faramir and Boromir would be so good. (Haha, true, Haymitch’s backstory would hurt. A LOT. Several of these backstories would hurt. Maybe I like to torture myself??)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A story or series about Number Two, Rhonda, and Milligan would be great! We already got Mr. Benedict’s backstory, but I’d like to see what happened between that and the Mysterious Benedict Society.
    I think Laura already has a comic of young Bhatair and Joshua’s story, or at least a bit of it. But it’s for Patreon, so I haven’t seen it (yet.)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know, right? I love those characters so much and I can imagine a lot of good things happening in their backstories. I confess I haven’t actually read Mr. Benedict’s backstory yet…I guess when prequels actually exist I am afraid to read them because they might ruin something, haha. I guess someday I should probably try it.
      Oh, yes! It’s the scene where they first meet, and basically it just makes me want to read more. 🙂

      Like

  3. Your lists are always the best. 😀 I’ve not read all of these, but – HAYMITCH – YES, all those people from HP – YES, aaaand LOTR – um, OF COURSE YES. I think the best kind of backstory is the kind that makes you really care about the characters, and show how their past changed them (obviously), and hint about certain things that would be so lovely to actually get a glimpse of.
    Well, I love The Magicians Nephew since it serves as a prequel to Lion/Witch/Wardrobe considering the fact that it was published later. Being able to watch the genesis of Narnia is so fascinating.
    There probably is/are some prequels that I thought totally disrespects the original, but I can’t recall right now. xD Probably going to be staying up tonight thinking about this…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks. 🙂 I am rather fond of making lists if they are related to characters or stories that I like.

      HAYMITCH. His backstory would probably low-key destroy me (I mean, just getting the brief version in Hunger Games is a gut-punch) but I also just want it because I love torturing myself. And so much HP potential! And always more LOTR is a good idea, yes?? I am glad that you understand these things.

      True, true, I would agree with that. Character driven backstory is a must.

      Ooh, yes! I sort of forget about that one, but The Magician’s Nephew is a truly excellent prequel. The Horse and His Boy is also a prequel-ish- more like a side-story, I guess. Anyway. I love all the Narnia books and getting Narnia origins in The Magician’s Nephew is amazing.

      Haha, I guess it’s a good sign that you can’t think of any? Maybe you’ve avoided some of the worst ones.

      Like

  4. Faramir and Boromir and Eowyn and Eomer prequels would be fantastic! (There actually is a TINY bit of Eowyn and Eomer prequelishness in Unfinished Tales, including their cousin, Theoden’s son, which means siblings AND cousins…but when I say “tiny” I really mean tiny, as in, maybe two sentences. XD)

    I would TOTALLY read a prequel about the Marauders, especially if it was mostly about Remus, because…I think I would find the other three mostly totally irritating, lol.

    I never thought about Number Two’s backstory, but now I am insatiably curious!

    (There is a short story about Gen’s childhood that is findable but hard to access…I think it’s called “Thief!”? Not sure if you were aware of this or not. 😉 But of course, we always want more…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wouldn’t they, though?? I love them so much and more of them would just be a delight. Ooh, well, two sentences is better than nothing.

      Haha, same. Remus is the only truly worthwhile Marauder, if we’re being honest here. The others would definitely drive me crazy. I used to like Sirius a lot more, but now I just find him supremely annoying. Not that his character isn’t interesting, because there is a lot to explore there, but…yes, irritating.

      I hadn’t thought about it until recently, but now I MUST know. I love Number Two so much.

      (I think…I read that?? I am pretty sure it was in the back of…Return of the Thief? Unless that was a different short story, but I think it was that one. More would be good.)

      Like

  5. I WOULD ADORE A PREQUEL ABOUT FARAMIR AND BOROMIR. WHY IS JRR TOLKIEN NOT ALIVE SO HE COULD GIVE ME THIS. Just everything about them!! I love them so much!

    ‘Regulus is a more sympathetic character than Sirius despite being a Death Eater’ is an interesting take! Even though Sirius is definitely one of my favorite Harry Potter characters, I’ve always been really confused as to why people try to retcon him into this cute, sweet guy in the fandom. He’s basically the opposite of cute and sweet?? Like him being deranged did NOT start in Azkaban, it’s pretty clear that he was deranged from the get-go! I think it would be really funny if Regulus was the cute, sweet, friendly one and Sirius is just awful to everyone, except Sirius is actually the one with something of a moral compass (even if it only works half the time), and Regulus is just totally amoral. Anyway, something about siblings who hate each other but also love each other just REALLY gets to me, it’s one of my favorite tropes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I KNOW. I LOVE FARAMIR AND BOROMIR SO MUCH WE NEED MORE OF THEIR GOODNESS. Why is JRR Tolkien not alive, indeed.

      Yeah, Sirius has ISSUES, man. I mean, my Sirius opinions have swung all over the place: when I read it as a baby I basically idolized him like Harry did (because I agreed with everything Harry thought, basically??), and then later I decided he was just plain AWFUL, and at this point I’ve gained an appreciation for his humanity and the complexity of his character. But it really does bug me when people try to make him out as more heroic and sweeter than he actually is? He’s…really not. And Regulus was less of a rebel and got himself into some Bad Stuff at a young age but he figured out that Voldemort was EVIL and ended up sacrificing his life to take a step towards defeating him, which took guts. We don’t get a lot about this kid but there’s a lot there to think about and I love it. Siblings who hate/love each other this a spectacular trope.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment